March First Friday – Lesley James!

We’ve got a new artist for First Friday in March! This month, it’ll be Lesley James, a multi-medium artist who will be exhibiting her photography work. (She’s also, BTW, a Murray State alum like myself!) As per usual, we’ll be serving milk and cookies starting at 6 p.m., and also give you a chance to meet the artist! I’ve posted her full biography below the cut!

I received my BS in Fine Art from Murray State University in Kentucky. I’ve lived in the Oak Ridge area for over 5 years and have been very involved as an artist in the community. I teach classes at the Children’s Museum of Oak Ridge and private lessons. I’ve shown my work at The Children’s Museum, Oak Ridge Art Center, Peter’s Jewelers, The Art and Craft Corner, The Corner Gallery, The Chrome Mosquito and downtown Knoxville. My mural work can also be seen in some of the more prominent homes and businesses in Knoxville and the surrounding area while working with a local mural company. I work in many diffferent mediums including oil, pastel pencil, charcoal, watercolor and ink, sidewalk painting and face and bodypainting.

I really enjoy what I do, letting the figure come to life under my brush. My style ranges from the classical to contemporary to whimsical. I am not restricted to one style. I believe I have a God-given talent and want to use it and develop it to its fullest potential. I will always be a student of the arts because it is my passion.

I believe in giving back to the community and donate many of my services for local charity events by way of free classes, art commissions for auction, murals, and professional facepainting.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

